Your browser does not support JavaScript!

Welcome to Central Iowa FCA

The Fellowship of Christian Athletes engages coaches and athletes to grow in their faith and sport.

Get In Touch

 Meet the new Central Iowa Area Director - 
Steve SikkinkSteve and Penny Sikkink

Steve Sikkink is no stranger to leading non-profit organizations in both the sacred and secular world as a volunteer. On Jan. 1, 2017, the 55-year-old former owner of Alliance Technologies will help lead the Iowa Fellowship of Christian Athletes as a full-time staff member when he becomes the Central Iowa Area Director.

President of the Central Iowa FCA Board since 2007 (a member since 2002), Sikkink will assume these duties from current State and Central Iowa Area Director, Dave Turnball. Turnball will then turn his total attention towards growing FCA in all areas of the state.

Steve will lead a staff of five (Gary Gravert South Central Iowa based in Albia, Randy Hendrickson, North Central Iowa based in Fort Dodge, R.J. Sumrall, Des Moines Urban and Iowa State Football Volunteer Faith Coach, Dave Applegate, Central Iowa and Drake University, and Jarred Herring, Des Moines Urban West Side).

A graduate of Hoover High School in Des Moines, Steve grew up in a Christian home, attending Meredith Drive Reformed Church, which he still attends. A three sport standout in high school, he took his passion for basketball to Central College, playing four years and serving as captain his senior year. He earned a degree in business management and systems management at Central in 1983 and joined the Weitz Corporation first as a programmer and then IT Operations Manager from 1986-1994.

He was founder, Chief Operating Officer and President of Alliance Technologies from 1994 to August of 2016 when he sold the computer IT firm.

“I’m afraid I have a pretty boring faith story,” he said. “My parents raised me in the church and my faith in Christ developed out of my home life,” he said. “Church and sports were paramount to our home.” He was introduced briefly to FCA at Hoover High School when Rick Nielsen, then Iowa FCA director, visited and helped start a fledgling huddle. There was no FCA on the Central Campus when he attended college there, but his continued interest in sports helped him reconnect through Dave Turnball’s encouragement 20 years later.

His list of not-for-profit activities is impressive. He continues to serve on the Central College Board of Trustees, serves on the Meredith Drive Reformed Church administrative board and remains involved in the United Way. He has served on the Central Campus Foundation as chairman, the Hoover High School Foundation and was a member of Roosevelt High School’s Bullpen Club helping to raise $250,000 for an indoor baseball facility.

He and his wife of 33 years, Penny, have two married children, Bret, 32, a teacher in the American School in Mexico City, and Carlye, 30, in Minneapolis.

He has also served on the DMAAC Information Technology Partnership Team, the Greater Des Moines Partnership Information Technology Council and the Technology Association of Iowa as a board member.

In terms of serving on the FCA board, Steve has never been one to attend a monthly meeting and work through a stack of financials. He has been a boots on the ground servant for FCA. “I think the urban impact we’ve had over the course of the last 10 years is most exciting to me,” he said. “Reconnecting with Hoover, my high school that has changed so much since I attended, has been tremendous. It allowed me to get engaged through the basketball chapels and team meals in a meaningful way. “The Training Table for all our inner-city schools, recovering food items and providing meals for our athletes has been awesome,” he said.

Going from owning and managing a $32 million company with 150 employees with offices in Des Moines, Omaha and Kansas City to entering full-time ministry is new and exciting to Sikkink. “It’s sort of a success to significance theme,” he said. “It’s something I had been thinking about and then God stepped in and made it happen now.”

“As Central Iowa FCA Board Chairman for eight years, I’ve come to understand the impact FCA is making on the lives of coaches and athletes,” he wrote in his letter of application to the search committee. “I want FCA to leverage my leadership, business acumen and corporate relationships to further its mission. I have four main areas of ministry where I feel I need to concentrate” he said. “Board development, Donor development, Staff leadership and Volunteer engagement.”

Des Moines Urban Baseball League

The Des Moines Urban Baseball League is a collaboration between Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Iowa Cubs, John R. Grubb YMCA, Boys and Girls Club of Central Iowa, Atlas Sports Group and Elim Christian Fellowship.

The league is free and will runs from May through mid-June. Games will be played every Saturday at the Grubb YMCA.

The purpose of the league is to promote the physical and spiritual well being of the young people in our city by providing an environment for physical, mental and spiritual growth. We are seeking to provide young people with a fundamental knowledge of both baseball and biblical character. We do this by bringing in coaches and volunteers such as Iowa Cubs players, former professionals, and high school coaches who understand baseball and serve as role models to these young people. We also do this by praying before and after games and by having a time of devotion each Saturday.

Learn more about the Des Moines Urban League on their website,


FCA Merchandise

FCA Coaches Bible

We have many merchandise items available for purchase at our office!  They make great Christmas or birthday gifts. They may just encourage the athletes in your life!  They are also a great way to encourage the coach in your child's life!  Stop by to see us MWF from 8:30 am - 4:30 pm (we recommend calling first to make sure someone is in the office 515-727-1868).


Relentless on YouVersion

Are you ready to relentlessly pursue Jesus Christ in your sport? The FCA Relentless Devotional speaks directly to the heart of the competitor by dealing with issues that coaches and athletes face on and off the field of competition. This 31-day plan will also help establish a consistent, daily quiet time with God, and includes extra readings and suggested prayer.


FCA Magazine

Central Iowa FCA     2600 Grand Ave. #114     Des Moines, IA 50312     515-727-1868     E-mail